Posted by: mossey | September 6, 2009

RON 97 vs. RON 95

I went to Petronas station in section 6 Shah Alam to fill up Scooby last night. Unfortunately they do not carry RON 97 fuel anymore. Sad. Scooby can’t take RON 95 cause I am afraid the engine will ‘knock’ and will have to pay dearly for engine repair over a period of time (Scooby still got enough fuel to go to Subang if need be). I believe normal Subaru Impreza will be able to take in RON 95 but Scooby has been remapped. I will need to remap again to use RON95 but that will give me less power and inconvenienced me 😦

This changing of octane rating (97 to 95)  is giving some of us a headache. Imagine me driving out to let say North with Scooby and had to stop for refueling and found no RON 97 available. What the heck am I suppose to do la? Put RON 95 and drive off and pray nothing will happened? I might need to plan a bit before driving out. Maybe use only Beebee for those long drive balik kampung.

Some of us may not realized that this is one way of increasing fuel price. The last increase was done too direct/drastic that the current gov lost many votes as opposition can easily say they will reduce oil price if given the power (which I really do not believe as the actual price is not controllable – must subsidize it somehow). Don’t get me wrong, increase in price MUST be done. We need to change/adapt our behavior on how we use non-renewable resources.

Coming back to subject at hand, now we are paying Rm1.80/l for RON 95 vs RM1.80/l of RON 97 in the past. Today, the RON 97 is sold at RM2.05/l which is 25cents increase per liter. Honestly, I am not complaining as a full tank (60 liter) cost me additional RM15. What I am a bit pissed is the availability of the RON97 or rather non-availability of it. I will put “having my own petrol station” as one of my retirement options. Imagine how much I have to fork out when I got my Porsche. LOL

Fuel_Wallet_Gauge


Responses

  1. This is a common misconception due to amount of misinformation being spread around. Most modern cars’ compression ratios allow use of RON92 fuel. The exception are sports cars which have higher compression ratios which necessitate higher octane ratings (even so I ran my Porsche 993 on RON95, not RON97; otherwise my Honda had RON92. Both have no problems. Never heard any knocking either). You should check with your car manufacturer what octane rating it can take.

    • Agree frank. My BMW is fine running on 95. My Subaru has been custom tuned (factory engine mapping has long been changed). Lower octane rating less than 97 will cause problems.

  2. […] RON 97 vs. RON 95 September 20092 comments 3 […]

  3. can afford an expensive car but can’t afford a good@little extra cents fuel lmao


Leave a comment

Categories