Posted by: mossey | January 21, 2009

Negotiate for myself

It is part of my job to talk to vendors and see how we can get better value for the organization. I would not make a big deal out of it cause it’s a job. On Monday however, I managed to get a cup of coffee from my favourite shop. Out of self serving interest, I asked for the manager’s number from the barista. I asked her to get the manager to call me when he is free.

True enough later in the afternoon, I received a call from a number that I have not seen before. I picked it up and the coffee shop manager called me back. I told him that he has a big market in my organization and asked if he can give discounts for the staff. He willingly gave 20% discount for all coffee brought from his shop. Nice. He also agreed to deliver coffee to my office (of the bosses) if need be and we will still have our 20% discount. Very nice. To top it off, he offered free refills for coffee if you have meetings at his place. Super cool!

I was happy that my coffee bill will be reduced by 20% and would not need to go out to get coffee anymore. Unfortunately, I would be able to communicate this out to all as some people in my organization are still upset about the war in Gaza. They prefer to buy local coffee instead of supporting the international chain.

Well, the way I see it, I negotiated for all. If you decide not to buy, it’s your choice. If you like coffee, you can thank me for the discount 🙂

800px-a_small_cup_of_coffee


Leave a comment

Categories