Posted by: mossey | January 31, 2009

Blow Job

It’s not what you think. Read on.  Today is a Subaru track day in Sepang. It was a wonderous day for people like me who live and breath cars. By a stroke of miracle, I was asked to be a committee member to make this a success. Like a ‘dungu’ I agreed to be  at the track at 7am! haha. As expected, none of my compatriot were there.

After setting up a makeshift registration booth (if you can call a table with a couple of chairs as a booth), we register all 65 cars and assign them pit lanes. Safety briefing started a bit late but it was necessary. After the briefing, newbies lap the track with the help of instructors and by 9:30, the track was opened.

This is where it gets interesting. I took scooby out for few laps and came in to rest. The second outing, the expected happened. My engine con-rod bearing started to give way. Feeling something amiss, I slowed down the car and enter the pit lane. Upon checking with Ah Chai, he confirmed that my con-rod bearing is making strange sounds. It needs replacing. That’s the end of my track day. It cost me RM250 and I did 6 laps. That’s about RM40/lap 🙂 The rest of the time, I was at the pit checking out other cars.

The bad news, if I want to rebuilt the engine (to be as good as new), it’s gonna cost a bomb. If I want to replace just the bearing, it is cheaper. As always, opinions are abound . I believe that since we are going to open the engine, might as well strengthen it as much as we can. I have clocked 120,000km for the past 4 years. Some of these kilometres are ‘hard-driving’ kms so it is not surprising it breaks down today. I want a trouble free another 120,000 kms in the future so the decision is a no brain-er. However, the damage is going to be in five figures bracket..yikes. This reminds me of a song,

Money, money, money
Must be funny
In the rich mans world
Money, money, money
Always sunny
In the rich mans world
Aha-ahaaa
All the things I could do
If I had a little money
Its a rich mans world

Scooby needs a rebuilt

Scooby needs a rebuilt

I will post other pictures taken by my brother while we were at Sepang. Come back to this blog soon.


Leave a comment

Categories