Posted by: mossey | January 29, 2009

Interesting theory

I am reading this book by Malcolm Gladwell – Outlier and found some of his observations are rather interesting. Based on his theory in the first chapter, when you were born and how your environment is can make of break a person. Now, this sounded very similar to Chinese zodiac that ‘forecast’ how good/bad this year will be based on when you were born. Some of his arguments makes sense. BTW, being a Rooster (from Chinese Zodiac), it is suppose to be a relatively good year for me 🙂

Another observation he mentioned in the book is that you do not need to have high IQ to be successful. You just need to be intelligent enough. Apparently, there is a threshold where being more intelligent does not give a person additional advantage in life. Interesting indeed. So, you don’t need to be very very smart. You just need to be smart enough!

I am actually reading a couple of book right now but I stopped reading the other cause his book is more interesting. I hope I can finish this soon cause I have another couple of book I need to read.


Responses

  1. moz…. it’s a good year for me too (i’m a snake..apparently very compatible with ox.. like best friends like dat.. hehehe)…

    so anyway, i just saw the news today.. you are right about the whole new airport thingy.. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories