Posted by: mossey | May 24, 2009

GPS Maps

I will be off for some R&R soon and I will bring my GPS along. The only problem was to get a routable map to the country I am going. Option 1 is to go to Low Yat and pay my way thru. I heard you can buy all sorts of map there. Of course it’s pirated version. Option 2 is to go to internet and buy the map direct from the manufacturer of the GPS unit. expensive but guarantee to work. I chose the third option. Find free maps on the Internet.

I am amazed with the gps community who would spend their own time and money to map a particular location or area and are willing to share. Here, I can find many free maps available for use but be warned, you probably need some time to read and have patience to try.

So far I have Malaysia/Singapore Map, Perth, Bali and New Zealand. I have few big maps (like whole of Australia) that need unlock codes (have to pay lar) which I will not unlock for now. I will wait when the need arise.

I realised that some hobbies are for our own personal pleasure while other (hobbies) can bring benefits to community. Rock climbing makes you feel happy but do not benefits community. Reading too do not benefit community. This one does. Thank god there are people who are willing to share their effort to all, else I will have use old-skool way ……. yes the paper map!!! Do they sell these anymore?

McMapA-1


Leave a comment

Categories