Posted by: mossey | September 19, 2010

Memory lane…

The first thing when you get old is the realization that your memories starts to fade. All the good or bad memories starts to disappear. I was back in Malacca for Raya and somehow was on the Malacca River Cruise. I spent 3 good years in Malacca in a boarding school and the cruise brings back loads of memories.

I remembered the path I walked around Malacca town. I remembered the RM10 cheap camera (more like a toy camera) I bought. I remembered the walk to the biggest emporium at the time – Madam King. I remembered buying my portable radio there. The same radio that I listened to every evening at my school. My elder sister reminded me of how I bought a pants with all the money I had. I practically gave the cashier shillings from my ‘tabung’ to get that pants.

Looking back, life was hard. I was 13. I had no money. I took buses wherever I needed need to go. I walked kilometers under the hot sun to go to nearest bus station.  I waited for another hour for the bus (normally under hot sun).

How far I have gone. I am lucky. Very lucky.


Leave a comment

Categories