Posted by: mossey | July 8, 2009

Gunung Kinabalu trip

A bunch of us are planning to go to Gunung Kinabalu before end of the year. We thought of doing something fun this year (like everything else is not fun in my life!). So in preparation, this weekend some friends of mine will climb Gunung Nuang in Ulu Langat. It is 1493meters or 4898ft in height. I have a love & hate relationship with this gunung…

It started when I was in college. I was an avid trekker then. Normally during semester break, we would go hiking around Malaysia. Gunung Nuang is our training ground before the actual climb everywhere else. I have been up there more than 3 times but the worst was the last one.

It was in 1989 if not mistaken and we are training for Gunung Tahan. So we decided to climb Nuang in 1 day. It was not the best of our decision but we were young, a bit gungho and thought since we have been there many times, it would be ok. So off we went. It was 6 hours of non-stop climb and few more hours climbing down. We had to do it quick as we want to be out of the woods before sundown. All I remember was the pain and the mental beating I took that day. But I survived and promised to never to that again. Ever………………..

So when some friends of mine asked me to go this weekend. I decline 🙂 I am no longer the young 20 year old boy and have nobody to impress anymore. Have fun guys….see you on Monday.

Graphical representation of the climp

Graphical representation of the climb


Responses

  1. hee hee! This is also the one kind of fun I’d rather not do. I need proper toilets.

    • Haha, in the past I call it ‘be one with nature’. Now I can’t even think about it 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories